22 states abolish border check posts since GST rollout

border check posts, GST, 22 states, Goods and Services Tax
22 states abolish border check posts since GST rollout
Be the first one to Share with friends

New Delhi: Amid major tax reform in India, as many as 22 states, including Delhi, West Bengal and Maharashtra, have abolished check posts within three days of the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST).

While eight states, including Assam, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh are also in the process of abolishing check posts, a finance ministry statement said.

ALSO READ: All you need to know about India’s new dawn; GST

State border check posts scrutinise material and location-based tax compliance, resulting in delays in delivery of goods and cause environmental pollution as trucks queue up for clearance.

GST, which came into effect on 1 July, aims to make India a single market where goods and services can flow seamlessly. The other important states which have abolished the check post include Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu. With the abolition of check posts, the long queues often witnessed at state borders will not be seen.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here