Placeholder canvas

ABVP bags three seats, NSUI makes comeback in DUSU


New Delhi, Sep 9 (PTI) RSS’ student outfit ABVPmaintained its dominance in DUSU polls bagging three seatsincluding that of President, while Congress’ NSUI made acomeback by winning the Joint Secretary’s post in the resultsannounced today. Amit Tanwar is the new President of Delhi UniversityStudents Union (DUSU) while ABVP’s Priyanaka and Ankit Singhhave been elected as Vice President and Secretaryrespectively, according to the Chief Election Officer for DUSUelections, D S Rawat. NSUI candidate Mohit Garid won the Joint Secretary’sseat, preventing a hat-trick by ABVP which had bagged all thefour seats in the DUSU polls last year as well as in 2014.AAP’s Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti, which was defeated lastyear in its debut, did not contest the polls this year. A significant number of 17,712 NOTA votes which wereintroduced for the first time in DUSU polls, were alsoexercised by the students. In the keenly contested President’s post, Amit Tanwar got16,357 votes defeating NSUI candidate Nikhil Yadav by a marginof 4,680 votes, Rawat said. Priyanka, who is the lone girl in the elected panel,obtained 15,592 votes. She defeated her closest rival by amargin of 2,455 votes votes. Ankit Singh Sangwan, who won the Secretary’s post got15,518 votes. He won by a margin of 1,383 votes. NSUI’s winning candidate Mohit Garid garnered the maximumvotes in the elected panel at 16,526 votes, winning theseat by a margin of 2466 votes. The DUSU polls were held yesterday in two phases forelecting representatives from 17 candidates of ABVP, AISA andNSUI. While seven candidates were in the race for the post ofPresident, 4 nominations were validated for the post ofVice-President Over 36 per cent out of a total of 1,23,246 voters hadcast their votes at 117 booths in 51 colleges. Celebrations broke out with supporters of the winningcandidates dancing to the drumbeats and distributing sweetsoutside the counting centre. The winners were garlanded and procession were taken outby ABVP supporters who paid tributes at Swami Vivekanand’sstatue in the Arts Faculty of the university. PTI GJS VITRT


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Rajya Sabha Elections: BJP Wins Eight Seats, SP Bags Two In Uttar Pradesh

Lucknow: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Uttar Pradesh...

Rajya Sabha Elections: Congress Wins Three Seats, BJP Bags One In Karnataka

Bengaluru: In the latest Rajya Sabha polls held in...

India, Thailand Hold 10th Joint Commission Meeting; Multiple Agreements Signed

New Delhi: In a significant diplomatic development, India and...

Lok Sabha Polls: AAP Announces Candidates For Four Seats In Delhi, One In Haryana

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) revealed its...