Placeholder canvas

#MeToo: Editors Guild of India suspends MJ Akbar, Tarun Tejpal


Editors Guild of India has suspended the membership of journalist-turned-politician MJ Akbar and the former editor-in-chief of Tehelka Tarun Tejpal after allegations of sexual abuse against them came to light.

Akbar, who resigned as the Minister of State for External Affairs in October, has been suspended until the defamation case he filed against Priya Ramani, one of the first women to make the accusation, is concluded.

ALSO READ: ‘Pakistan is illegally occupying Indian territory in J&K,’ says Sushma Swaraj

“Office-bearers of the Guild discussed the Executive Committee’s (EC) comments and took the decision on the matter. It has concurred with the majority view that Akbar should be suspended from the Guild till such time that the court case he has filed is concluded,” a statement issued by the media body read.

The Guild has also suspended one of its past presidents and former Editor-in-Chief of Tehelka Tarun Tejpal over allegations of sexual misconduct.

ALSO READ: Latest development: What made MJ Akbar’s wife break her silence on #MeToo


“The Guild had sought the views of its EC on what action should be taken against MJ Akbar, a dormant member at present and one of its past president, Tarun Tejpal and Gautam Adhikari (senior journalist) in light of the charges of sexual misconduct levelled against them by several women journalist. A majority of the EC members suggested that the membership of Akbar should be suspended. There was also consensus that Tejpal be suspended too, until the conclusion of his trial and the Guild should write to Adhikari to seek his response,” reads the statement.

However, the Guild has decided to seek a formal response from Adhikari against charges levelled against him.

These three names were cropped up after the MeToo movement gained momentum in India.

While Akbar came under fire after 20 women journalists levelled sexual misconduct charges against him, Tejpal has served a jail term in a rape case, while the case against him in the Supreme Court is underway.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Rajya Sabha Elections: BJP Wins Eight Seats, SP Bags Two In Uttar Pradesh

Lucknow: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Uttar Pradesh...

Rajya Sabha Elections: Congress Wins Three Seats, BJP Bags One In Karnataka

Bengaluru: In the latest Rajya Sabha polls held in...

India, Thailand Hold 10th Joint Commission Meeting; Multiple Agreements Signed

New Delhi: In a significant diplomatic development, India and...

Lok Sabha Polls: AAP Announces Candidates For Four Seats In Delhi, One In Haryana

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) revealed its...