Placeholder canvas

India Whitewashes Afghanistan, Wins After Two Super Overs


Bengaluru: In a thrilling encounter at Bengaluru during the third T20I on Wednesday, at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. India emerged victorious against Afghanistan by 11 runs after a remarkable century from captain Rohit Sharma and impressive batting displays by Afghanistan’s Rahmanullah Gurbaz, skipper Ibrahim Zadran, and Gulbadin Naib.

The intensity reached new heights as it took two Super Overs to break the deadlock, with the first Super Over also ending in a tie. The match will be remembered for its record-breaking performances and the nail-biting conclusion that left fans on the edge of their seats.

Afghanistan batted first in the Super Over and set a target of 17 runs for India after the Super Over was bowled by Mukesh Kumar. India managed to take the equation to two runs in one ball and the Super Over as well ended in a tie. Rinku was sent by Rohit to run on the final ball of the Azmatullah Omarzai bowled over, but only one run was made.

In the second Super Over, Rohit and Rinku Singh came out to bat against Fareed Ahmed. With a four and six by Rohit, India managed 11 runs but lost two wickets, taking the target to 12 runs. Ravi Bishnoi came to bowl for India and got Mohammed Nabi on the first ball. After a single, Bishnoi also removed Gurbaz, winning the game by 11 runs.

Earlier, a record-breaking century by skipper Rohit Sharma and a half-century by Rinku Singh helped India reach a massive 212/4 in 20 overs following an early loss of wickets against Afghanistan in the third T20I at Bengaluru on Wednesday.

Rohit brought up his 5th T20I century, most by a batter in the format.The final over by Karim Janat leaked 36 runs as Rohit smashed a four and two sixes and Rinku’s three sixes came on the final three balls.India finished at 212/4, with Rohit (121* in 69 balls, with 11 fours and eight sixes) and Rinku (69* in 39 balls, with two fours and six sixes) unbeaten. Both combined to form a 190-run partnership for the fifth wicket. Fareed Ahmad (3/20) was the pick of the bowlers for Afghanistan.

India Playing 11: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Shivam Dube, Sanju Samson (wk), Rinku Singh, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan

Afghanistan Playing 11: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran (c), Gulbadin Naib, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Qais Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem Safi, Fareed Ahmad Malik

Click here for Latest Fact Checked News On NewsMobile WhatsApp Channel

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

IPL 2024: Shimron Hetmyer’s Stellar Performance Leads RR To Thrilling Victory Over Punjab Kings

Mullanpur: Shimron Hetmyer played a determined and entertaining innings...

EAM Jaishankar, UK counterpart David Cameron Discuss West Asia Situation And Bilateral Ties

New Delhi: External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar held discussions...

Indian Airlines Avoiding Iranian Airspace Amid Iran-Israel Tensions

New Delhi: Amid escalating tensions that evoke a wartime...