Placeholder canvas

Rajya Sabha Elections: Congress Wins Three Seats, BJP Bags One In Karnataka


Bengaluru: In the latest Rajya Sabha polls held in Karnataka, the ruling Congress party emerged victorious on three seats, while the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured one seat. The Congress candidates, namely Ajay Maken, Dr. Syed Naseer Hussain, and GC Chandrashekhar, clinched victories in a significant development for the party.

Ajay Maken got 47 votes, while both Dr Syed Naseer Hussain and GC Chandrashekhar received a total of 46 votes each.

“Three candidates from the Congress party have won the Rajya Sabha seats. I thank all voters, the CM and party workers, and the AICC President also, he was very conscious. I would like to thank Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Mallikarjun Kharge,” Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar said.

Meanwhile, BJP candidate Narayanasa Bhandage also won the Rajya Sabha polls.

“BJP candidate Narayanasa K won the Rajya Sabha election. Congratulations,” the Karnataka BJP posted on X.

Also, the BJP-JDS candidate Kupendra Reddy lost the elections after cross-voting by BJP MLA ST Somashekar who voted in favour of Congress in the Rajya Sabha polls.ST Somashekar voted in favour of the Congress party on Tuesday.

The Karnataka BJP will file a complaint with Karnataka Assembly Speaker UT Khadar against party MLA ST Somashekar for cross-voting in favour of Congress in the Rajya Sabha polls, BJP MLC N Ravi Kumar said.

Before casting his vote, ST Somashekar, while speaking to the reporters here, said, “I will vote in favour of them who assure me and give confidence that they will give funds for the water and other management in my constituency.”

Voting took place for 15 Rajya Sabha seats across Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, and Himachal Pradesh on Tuesday.Earlier today, Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah expressed confidence that Ajay Maken, GC Chandrashekhar, and Syed Nasir Hussain from Congress will comfortably register wins in the Rajya Sabha polls.

“People who contest elections will claim that they will win. But they do not have the necessary votes. They have only 19 votes. Hence, there was no need to field a candidate, but they are still contesting. All our MLAs will loyally vote in favour of Congress. Congress candidates will win,” the Chief Minister said at a press conference in Vidhana Soudha.

The term for Rajya Sabha MPs is six years, and elections are held every two years for 33 per cent of the seats. Currently, the Rajya Sabha has a strength of 245 members.

Ahead of the Lok Sabha polls in the country, the outcome of the polls for the Rajya Sabha is likely to have an impact on the politically crucial state.

Click here for Latest Fact Checked News On NewsMobile WhatsApp Channel

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

IPL 2024: Shimron Hetmyer’s Stellar Performance Leads RR To Thrilling Victory Over Punjab Kings

Mullanpur: Shimron Hetmyer played a determined and entertaining innings...

EAM Jaishankar, UK counterpart David Cameron Discuss West Asia Situation And Bilateral Ties

New Delhi: External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar held discussions...

Indian Airlines Avoiding Iranian Airspace Amid Iran-Israel Tensions

New Delhi: Amid escalating tensions that evoke a wartime...