Placeholder canvas

IPL 2024: Kolkata Knight Riders Defeat Delhi Capitals By 106 Runs


Visakhapatnam: An all-round dominant performance from the Kolkata Knight Riders led them to a 106-run victory against the Delhi Capitals at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam on Tuesday in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. KKR has now won all three of their matches.

DC faced an uphill battle from the outset, stumbling to a meager 33/4 within the powerplay. Despite a valiant effort by Rishabh Pant and Devon Stubbs, who dazzled the stadium with their aggressive strokeplay, DC found themselves struggling against the formidable bowling attack of KKR.

Pant and Stubbs managed to forge a resilient 93-run partnership before succumbing to the pressure. Subsequently, DC endured a flurry of wickets, crumbling in the face of KKR’s relentless assault.

Earlier, KKR unleashed an onslaught of batting brilliance against Delhi Capitals, setting a formidable target of 271 runs with the loss of only seven wickets. Sunil Narine, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, and Andre Russell spearheaded the assault with explosive innings.

Sunil Narine emerged as the leading run-scorer for Kolkata Knight Riders, showcasing his prowess with a stellar 85-run innings. Meanwhile, Angkrish Raghuvanshi added to the onslaught with a rapid-fire half-century, notching 57 runs off just 27 balls. Andre Russell and Rinku Singh also made impactful contributions with brisk innings, further bolstering KKR’s formidable total against Delhi Capitals.

kkr skipper Shreyas Iyer won the toss and elected to bat first against the Rishabh Pant-led Delhi Capitals.

After winning the toss Iyer said, “We’ll bat first. The wicket looks like a belter, no drastic change in the wicket when compared to the last game. It’s been quite a journey, was a with Delhi and now with KKR, I’m comfortable with this switch. Anything can happen on a given day, it’s important to stick to the process. We’ve Sunil (Narine) coming in and going after the bowlers in the first 6 overs, so his role is very clear and the rest know what’s expected of them. One change – Angrish Raghuvanshi comes in”

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Sumit Kumar, Rasikh Dar Salam, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Philip Salt(w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rinku Singh, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

Click here for Latest Fact Checked News On NewsMobile WhatsApp Channel

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Lok Sabha Polls: EC Chairs Meeting To Address Heat Wave Risks

New Delhi: With above-normal temperatures and heat waves forecasted...

Row Over PM Modi’s ‘Wealth To Infiltrators’ Jab At Congress

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi's recent remarks alleging...

Maldives: President Muizzu’s Ruling PNC Secures Supermajority In Elections

According to preliminary results, President Mohamed Muizzu's PNC secured the win in more than 60 seats, which is roughly two-thirds of the total seats

First Ever Hindi Radio Broadcast Starts In Kuwait

The Indian Embassy in Kuwait lauded Kuwait's Ministry of Information for starting a Hindi programme on Kuwait Radio on FM 93.3 and AM 96.3 every Sunday