skip to content

Indian Bowling Attack Strong Enough Take On English Batsmen?


England swept aside New Zealand in a domestic Test series, but the next opposing team in line, India, is no pushover in terms of teamwork. Giving the hosts a taste of their own medicine would be within the viewers’ grasp, as their swing and seam experts are on the line with, yet not better than, England’s finest in variable conditions in which bowlers have the stronger position from moment to moment.

The fifth Test between England and India will begin following an agreement between the England & Wales Cricket Board and the Board of Control for Cricket in India, the sequence will continue with India leading 2-1 and the final Test match start on July 1 at Edgbaston rather than Manchester. Due to scheduling complications, the match cannot be held at Emirates Old Trafford due to conflicts with pre-planned activities at the venue, leaving an inadequate chance to plan a Test pitch.

The tour also includes three T20I matches and three ODIs, and the schedule for all the matches has been pushed back by six days, with Edgbaston now hosting a T20I rather than an ODI.
In Test cricket alone, India and England have met 130 times. England won 49 battles, while India triumphed 31 times, with 50 matches ending in a draw. Both teams have met in 103 One-Day International (ODI) matches, with India winning 55 to England’s 43. India won 10 of the 19 Twenty20 Internationals against England, who won the rest nine. When England visited India last year, they did lose all three series, and they’ve also lost the last three T20I series, both at home as well as away.

Squads Ind Vs Eng Tour 2022

The BCCI already has named a 17-member squad for the rescheduled fifth Test in Birmingham. Virat Kohli, the previous tour’s captain, will be replaced by Rohit Sharma.
KL Rahul, the Indian opener, was named to the 17-member Test squad but will miss the England tour to travel to Germany for medical care.

The Indian cricket board has still yet to reveal the squads for the white-ball series

Rescheduled Test – Jasprit Bumrah (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Srikar Bharat (wk), Mayank Agarwal
England – Ben Stokes (C), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Foakes (WK), Jack Leach, Alex Lees, Craig Overton, Sam Billings (WK), Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Jamie Overton, Ollie Pope, Matty Potts, Joe Root.
The T20I series will begin on July 7 at Ageas Bowl, with the second and third games taking place on July 9 and 10 at Edgbaston and Trent Bridge, respectively. The ODI series kicks off on July 12 at the Kia Oval. Lord’s will host the second game of the series and the series will conclude at Emirates Old Trafford on July 17


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

T20 WC: Kagiso Rabada Takes Three Wickets As SA Beat USA By 18 Runs

Antigua: Pacer Kagiso Rabada's final over prevented a masterful...

Nalanda Is An Identity, An Honour: PM Modi

Nalanda: Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the new campus...

UGC-NET 2024 Cancelled, Fresh Examinations To Be Conducted

New Delhi: The Ministry of Education, on Wednesday announced...

Nine Admitted Due To Heatstroke At Delhi’s LNJP Hospital; DDMA Issues Heatwave Guidelines

New Delhi: Amidst the ongoing heatwave in the national...