skip to content

The Grand IPL Auction is back; It will rain money in Bengaluru on Jan 27


We are less than 10 days away from another priceless auction for IPL. It rains money every year in the auction but this time it is going to be huge. Two old teams—Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals—returned for the 11th event of extravaganza event.

With just 18 players retained by the franchises, an increased salary cap of INR 80 crore means the temperature is going to soar high when the franchises sit around the tables on January 27 and 28.

Stars like Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Rohit Sharma, David Warner, MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina and few more have been retained by their respective franchises but there is a galaxy of players to choose.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli wins Sir Garfield Sobers and ODI Cricketer of the year awards

Chris Gayle, Ben Stokes, Rashid Khan, Lendl Simmons, Ravichandran Ashwin, Gautam Gambhir, Kieron Pollard, etc, the list goes on.

Around 1,122 cricketers, who have registered themselves for the auction, will go under the hammer when the event will take place in Bengaluru on January 27 and 28.

First let’s have a look at the players retained by the teams.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan

Kings XI Punjab: Axar Patel

Rajasthan Royals: Steve Smith

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja

Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell

Delhi Daredevils: Rishabh Pant, Chris Morris, Shreyas Iyer


Now let us go through the players who would go under the hammer in Bangalore. The list is vast so we sort it out based on their base price.

INR 2 crore (USD 315,000 approx)

Indian players: R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, M Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Karn Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Robin Uthappa.

Gayle has been superb for RCB so far and is as dangerous a batsman as you would see

Overseas players: Rashid Khan, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Starc, Cameron White, Eoin Morgan, Liam Plunkett, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Corey Anderson, Brendon McCullum, Quinton de Kock, Colin Ingram, Angelo Mathews, Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard.

INR 1.5 crore (USD 235,000 approx)

Indian players: Amit Mishra, Jaydev Unadkat, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohit Sharma, Washington Sundar

Overseas players: Aaron Finch, David Miller, Evin Lewis, Faf du Plessis, Harry Gurney, Hashim Amla, Jason Holder, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Kagiso Rabada, Kane Williamson, Kyle Abbott, Lendl Simmons, Mark Wood, Michael Klinger, Moeen Ali, Moises Henriques, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Nathan Lyon, Peter Handscomb, Ravi Bopara, Shaun Marsh, Steven Finn, Travis Head, Trent Boult.

INR 1 crore (USD 160,000 approx)

Indian players: Manish Pandey, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Parthiv Patel, Piyush Chawla, Sanju Samson, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar, Wriddhiman Saha

Overseas players: Adam Zampa, Alex Hales, Andrew Tye, Ben Cutting, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Jordan, Dale Steyn, Daniel Christian, Dwayne Smith, Jason Behrendorff, JP Duminy, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan, Imran Tahir, Mustafizur Rahman, Sam Billings, Samuel Badree, Shakib Al Hasan, Shane Watson, Tim Southee, Tom Curran, Tymal Mills.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Microsoft Global Outage: List Of Services Hit In India

Windows users around the world have been stuck in...

NM EIC Saurabh Shukla Analyses Donald Trump’s Address At The Republican National Convention

Just five days after an assasination attempt on him,...

US Elections: Donald Trump Accepts Republican Presidential Nomination

Five days after surviving an assasination attempt, Donald J...

Newsmobile Morning Brief

Chandigarh-Dibrugarh Express Derails In UP’s Gonda; Three Dead, 31...