skip to content

Here’s Why USA Were Penalized With Five Penalty Runs Against India


New York: The USA faced a unique setback during their ICC T20 World Cup Group A match against India on Wednesday, becoming the first team penalized under the new stop-clock rule, receiving a five-run penalty at Nassau County International Stadium in New York.

The stop-clock rule, introduced in December last year and permanently implemented in April 2024, mandates that teams have 60 seconds to commence the next over. A bowling team is issued two warnings if they exceed this limit during their fielding innings, and a five-run penalty is imposed for each subsequent violation.

During the low-scoring contest, the USA committed three violations, leading to the historic penalty. Commentator Ebony Rainford-Brent explained, “Three times they have exceeded the sixty seconds they have allotted to get through between overs. So they have been going slow, moving slow, maybe overthinking due to the pressure in this game.”

Rainford-Brent added, “Maybe sometimes that is the difference between two sides. India has been there and done that at so many tournaments.”

At the time of the penalty, India was 76/3 and required 35 runs in the last five overs to win. Riding on Suryakumar Yadav’s unbeaten fifty and bolstered by the penalty runs, India clinched victory, continuing their unbeaten streak and advancing to the Super 8 stage.

Former India international and ICC commentator Dinesh Karthik explained the rule’s pressure, noting, “There’s been a lot of pressure on the bowling team captain — India just got away with it in the game against Pakistan. But now America has definitely done this to themselves.”

In the match, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bowl first. The USA posted a fighting total of 110/8 in 20 overs, with crucial knocks from Nitish Kumar (27 off 23 balls) and Steven Taylor (24 off 30 balls). Arshdeep Singh (4/9) and Hardik Pandya (2/14) led the Indian bowling attack, with Axar Patel also contributing a wicket.

During India’s chase of 111, they lost key players Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli for single-digit scores, along with Rishabh Pant (18 off 20 balls). Struggling at 39/3 in 7.3 overs, Suryakumar Yadav (50* off 49 balls) and Shivam Dube (31* off 35 balls) formed a match-winning 72-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

Saurabh Netravalkar (2/18) was the standout bowler for the USA. Arshdeep Singh was awarded ‘Player of the Match’ for his exceptional performance.

Click here for Latest Fact Checked News On NewsMobile WhatsApp Channel

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Anant Ambani Radhika Merchant Host A 40 Day Bhandara Before Their Wedding

Anant Ambani and Radhika Merchant are all set to...

Mumbai Rains: IMD Issues Orange Alert, Flights Affected

No relief for Mumbaikars yet as the India Meteorological...

Fact Check: Elon Musk Is Not Buying Snapchat; Don’t Fall For This Fabricated X-Post

A screenshot of a tweet allegedly posted by Elon...

Biden’s Gaffes At NATO Summit; Introduces Zelenskyy As ‘President Putin’

Washington DC: US President Joe Biden, who is under...