skip to content

India In The World Cup Final; Beat New Zealand By 70-Runs


Mumbai: India has reached the World Cup final with Mohammed Shami leading the bowling attack, taking seven wickets in the crucial 2023 World Cup Semi-Final against New Zealand at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium, securing a 70-run victory.

After losing two early wickets with just 39 runs on the board, the Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson and Daryl Mitchell forged a vital partnership for their team. However, it was Shami who asserted his dominance, delivering a stellar performance by taking seven wickets. His scalps included Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham, Tim Southee, and Lockie Ferguson. Supporting the attack, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Kuldeep Yadav each chipped in with one wicket each.

The grand finale at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium on November 19 awaits as India gears up to confront the triumphant team from semi-final two. Meanwhile, the battle for the last coveted spot intensifies, with Australia and South Africa set to clash tomorrow in a showdown for a place in the finals.

Earlier in the first inning, Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer scored centuries to help post a formidable total of 397. The Indian batting lineup thoroughly dominated the game, posting their highest-ever total in a knockout match, while the New Zealand bowlers seemed clueless throughout the match.

India’s captain set the tone with a brisk 47 off 29 balls, applying pressure on the New Zealand bowlers before being caught while attempting a six.

Meanwhile, Shubman Gill, who faced an unexpected setback by retiring hurt in the 23rd over, returned to bat and scored an unbeaten 80 runs.

Virat Kohli emerged as the leading run scorer with 117 runs, breaking another record by becoming the first batsman in One Day Internationals (ODIs) history to achieve 50 centuries. This milestone was reached during the ICC World Cup 2023 semi-final clash between India and New Zealand at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium.

Meanwhile, Iyer played an unstoppable century inning, scoring 105 runs off just 75 balls, while KL Rahul contributed a rapid 39 runs off just 20 deliveries to propel India to a massive total.

Men in Blue at this moment can do no wrong it seems. The opening pair of skipper Rohit Sharma (550 runs) and Shubman Gill (270 runs) has given explosive starts to India, setting the tone for the rest of the innings and letting the other batters take their time, settle and dominate. Virat Kohli (711 runs), Shreyas Iyer (526 runs) and wicketkeeper-batter KL Rahul (347 runs) are a trio of dangerous accumulators who are hard to get rid of once they settle.

India Playing 11: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand Playing 11: Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

Click here for Latest Fact Checked News On NewsMobile WhatsApp Channel

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Fact Check: Pakistani Fan, Not Indian, Involved in Verbal Spat With Pak Cricketer Haris Rauf

A video of Pakistani cricketer Haris Rauf involved in...

Assam IPS Officer Shoots Himself Minutes After Wife’s Death From Cancer

Guwahati: Shiladitya Chetia, a 44-year-old IPS officer and Assam's...

At 35.2 Degrees National Capital Records Its Warmest Night After 12 Years

New Delhi: The national capital on Wednesday recorded the...