Placeholder canvas

Nobel Prize 2023 In Medicine Awarded To Katalin Karikó And Drew Weissman For Role In Fight Against COVID


New Delhi: The 2023 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman for their groundbreaking discoveries on nucleoside base modifications, facilitating the creation of successful mRNA vaccines for combatting COVID-19.

The top honour was given by the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institute on October 2 as the prestigious ceremony kicks in.

Established by Swedish inventor and philanthropist Alfred Nobel in 1895 through his will, the Nobel Prize Awards, started in 1901, aim to honor those who have contributed significantly to “confer the greatest benefit on mankind.”

The award in Physiology or Medicine is granted for a noteworthy breakthrough in the realms of biology or medicine. The Nobel Prize is specifically awarded for discoveries that have had a profound impact on humanity, reshaping the trajectory of science; lifetime accomplishments or roles in scientific leadership are not considered eligible.

From 1901 to 2022, 225 Nobel Laureates were honored with 113 awards in the field of Physiology or Medicine. Svante Pääbo was recently awarded the 2022 prize for Physiology for his groundbreaking contributions to understanding the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution.

The Nobel Foundation, responsible for overseeing the award process, increased the prize money by 10 percent this year, amounting to 11 million kronor ($1 million). In addition to the financial aspect, laureates, when presented with their Nobel Prizes during the December ceremonies, are also granted a diploma and an 18-carat gold medal.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

IPL 2024: Sunil Narine’s Blistering Century Drives KKR To 223/6 Against Rajasthan Royals

Kolkata: In a spectacular display of batting prowess, star...

In IPL You Can’t Just Be Good, You’ve To Be Very Good Every Day: DC Head Coach Ricky Ponting

New Delhi: Following their impressive six-wicket victory in the...

UPSC Results: Aditya Srivastava Secures AIR 1; PM Modi Extends Congratulations To Successful Candidates

New Delhi: The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) unveiled...

IPL 2024: RR Players Praise Samson As He Celebrates 10 Years With Franchise

Samson represented RR from 2013-15 and then from 2018 onwards, following a brief stint with the Delhi Capitals from 2016-17 when the franchise was banned for spot-fixing charges