Sikkim government bags five national awards for the rural development


The Government of the state of Sikkim got five national awards for the Rural Management & Development Department for the Appraisal year 2015-16 that are the: “Deen Dayal Upadhyay Panchayat Sashaktiran Puraskar” at Gram Panchayat Unit Level, one National Award Rashtriya Gaurav Gram Sabha Puraskar 2017 with the new nomenclature as “Nanaji Deshmukh Rashtriya Gaurav Gram Sabha Puraskar” at Zilla Panchayat level and one National Award for e-Puraskar at the State level bringing the total tally of National Awards to five for the appraisal year 2015-16.

1. e-Puraskar for the State of Sikkim – ranked 1st.
2. Deen Dayal Upadhayay Panchayat Sashaktikaran Purashkar for East District Zilla Panchayat.
3. Deen Dayal Upadhayay Panchayat Sashaktikaran Purashkar for Poklok Denchung GPU, South Sikkim.
4. Deen Dayal Upadhayay Panchayat Sashaktikaran Purashkar for Dalapchand GPU, East Sikkim.
5. Nanaji Deshmukh Rashtriya Gaurav Gram Sabha Purashkar for Rey Mendu GPU, East Sikkim.

ALSO READ: Check out Asia’s biggest church which is situated in Nagaland

The awards were presented by Yogi Adityanath, Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and Narendra Singh Tomar, Minister of Panchayati Raj, Rural Development and Drinking Water & Sanitation, Government of India in presence of Parshottam Rupala, Union Minister of State for Panchayati Raj, Government of India on the occasion of National Panchayati Raj Day in a grand function held at Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh on Monday.

M.N. Dhakal, Director, Panchayati Raj, Rural Management & Development Department, Government of Sikkim, received the e-Purashkar Award on behalf of the State Government. The Panchayat Sashaktikaran Purashkar at the Zilla level was received by Bimal Dawari, Adhyaksha East District Zilla Panchayat and the Gram Panchayat Unit level awards were received by Panchayat Presidents of winning Gram Panchayat Units.

ALSO READ: Why Apple threatened Uber with action?

The awards are indicators of Sikkim doing exemplary work under Panchayati Raj which has been achieved due to the devolution of Power to the Panchayats and the constant support by the State Government. The awards and accolades received by the State at the various forum have been possible due to the climate of good governance and vibrant local self-government as envisaged by the Chief Minister of Sikkim Shri Pawan Chamling.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Kanchanjunga Express Accident: 9 Dead, Several Injured; Ashwini Vaishnaw Visits Crash Site | TOP UPDATES

Darjeeling: Nine people were killed and multiple others injured...

Israel PM Netanyahu Dissolves War Cabinet, Two Key Cabinet Ministers Resign

Tel Aviv: Amid the ongoing Israel-Gaza conflict, Israeli Prime...

AI App PadhAI Achieves Historic 170+ Score In 2024 UPSC Prelims, Solves Exam In Under 7 Minutes

New Dekhi: An AI-powered app named PadhAI achieved an...

Rahul Gandhi To Retain Raebareli Seat, Priyanka Gandhi To Contest From Wayanad

New Delhi: Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge announced on Monday...