skip to content

Bypoll 2022: TMC Records Historic Victory As Shatrughan Sinha Wins Asansol And Supriyo Sweeps Ballygunge


The Trinamool Congress registered big historic wins in Asansol Lok Sabha and Ballygunge assembly seats with Shatrughan Sinha and Babul Supriyo, respectively. The most keenly watched among the five by-polls for which votes were counted today.

TMC workers and supporters celebrate the tunes of drumbeats in Asansol as the party leads in a by-poll to the Asansol Lok Sabha seat.

Speaking to ANI, Agnimitra Paul said, “There were some shortcomings from our end because of which we had to face defeat. The public’s verdict will be accepted. Few cases of rigging were seen at some places but central forces worked really well. We will work at grassroots levels in the forthcoming days”.

Reacting to Supriyo’s win from Ballygunge, she said, “Babul Supriyo’s victory in Ballygunge was predictable, Keya Ghosh has put up a big fight. We urge Police, administration, and the Election Commission to keep a check on violence in the state. Post-poll violence should not take place in West Bengal.”

TMC candidate Babul Supriyo won the bypolls securing 51,199 votes while CPIM’s Saira Shah Halim came the second with 30,971 votes. BJP’s Keya Ghosh came the distant third with 13,220 votes. TMC secured 49.69 per cent vote share while CPIM got 30.06 per cent votes. BJP’s vote share remained just 12.83 per cent.

Supriyo collected his certificate after winning Ballygunge Assembly by-polls from Election Commission officials.

Notably, Supriyo, a two-time BJP MP, quit the ruling party at the Centre last year. The Asansol Lok Sabha seat fell vacant after he had resigned.

Whereas  Shatrughan Sinha won the Asansol parliamentary seat by 2.97 lakh votes.

(With agency inputs)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Bangladesh Unrest: 204 Indian Students Brought Back Via Meghalaya Amid Violent Protests

New Delhi: In a significant rescue operation, 204 Indian...

Smriti, Shafali Lead India To Dominant Win Over Pakistan In Women’s Asia Cup

Dambulla: India triumphed over Pakistan by seven wickets in...

UPSC Files FIR Against Trainee IAS Officer Puja Khedkar

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) announced on Friday...

Microsoft Global Outage Puts All On The Blink

The companies across the world have been hit by...