skip to content

Cricket Australia removes ‘Southern Stars’ as official name for women’s team


Cricket Australia announced on Wednesday that it would drop the Southern Stars nickname for the Australian women’s cricket team in official communications. Both the men and women cricket teams will be referred to in the same way, that is the Australian men’s cricket team and the Australian women’s cricket team.

Chairman of Cricket Australia David Peever said that the move carried considerable weight as “Cricket cannot hope to be a sport for all Australians if it does not recognise the power of words, and the respect for women that sits behind such decisions.”


A leading Australian businesswoman, Ann Sherry, challenged the cricket board to adopt a name that is gender neutral and welcoming to women. The Australian women’s cricket team has traditionally been called the Southern Stars, differentiating them from the men’s team.


However, Cricket Australia did mention that it would not completely drop the Southern Stars nickname as it has a strong brand identity and a strong following on social media.

Social media accounts which use the Southern Stars name will remain, because of their strong following, but the official name and logo will be changed to reflect the new convention.

The Australian women’s team, led by Meg Lanning, will depart for England on Friday for the 2017 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Israel Hamas War: Hamas Launches Big Missile Attack Towards Tel Aviv

The al-Qassam Brigades, the armed wing of Hamas, declared a "big missile attack" against Tel Aviv. The Israeli military reportedly retaliated by alerting the central city's sirens to approaching rockets

Punjab Kings Pacer Harshal Patel Wins Second Purple Cap In IPL 2024

Harshal finished the tournament with 24 wickets in 14 matches at an economy of 9.73 and an average of 19.87

RCB’s Virat Kohli Wins Orange Cap In IPL 2024, Becomes First Indian To Secure Honour Twice

Virat scored 741 runs in 15 matches at an average of 61.75, with a century and five fifties. 

IPL 2024: KKR Beat SRH By 8 Wickets To Clinch Their Third IPL Title

Sunrisers Hyderabad's gloomy outing with the bat in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 final against Kolkata Knight Riders etched their names in history books, but on the unwanted side