skip to content

US lifts ban on refugees from 11 countries


Washington: The Trump administration said on Monday that it would resume accepting refugees from 11 “high risk” nations, but said those seeking to enter the US would come under much tougher scrutiny than in the past.

The US government would implement tougher screening procedures, where the refugees would face “extensive background checks” to weed out potential extremists and criminals.

ALSO READ: Ready to work with India through dialogue and communication, says China

“These additional security measures will make it harder for bad actors to exploit our refugee program, and they will ensure we take a more risk-based approach to protecting the homeland,” the Washington Post quoted the Department of Homeland Security Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen as saying.

“The United States must continue to fulfil its obligation to the global community to assist those facing persecution and do so in a manner that addresses the security of the American people,” she said.

The new measures will include additional interviews of applicants’ family members, and close scrutiny of potential ties to organised crime said senior U.S. officials.

The Trump administration has refused to identify the 11 nations it considers high-risk, citing “law enforcement sensitivities.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

BJP Leaders Slam Rahul Gandhi For Vacating Wayanad Seat

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders have launched...

Fact Check: This Picture Of PM Modi Touching Sonia Gandhi’s Feet Is Edited

A picture of Prime Minister Narendra Modi touching the...

Ranveer Singh Is Gaining Weight For His Upcoming Film; Here’s What We Know

Ranveer Singh, soon to become a father, is preparing...

India Has More Nuclear Weapons Than Pakistan: Report

New Delhi: India has more nuclear weapons than Pakistan...