skip to content

Diwali 2022: Dhanteras To Bhai Dooj, Everything You Need To Know About The 5-Day Festival


Deepavali, popularly known as the festival of lights, is celebrated nationwide with great pomp. People perform puja, observe rituals, decorate their homes with diyas, rangoli, and lights, enjoy delectable sweets and meals, dress in new traditional attire, and more.

Diwali celebrations last for five days, beginning with Dhanteras and ending with Bhai Dooj.

Here’s a list of the five days of Diwali with their dates and puja timings.

Day 1: October 22: Dhanteras or Dhan Trayodashi

People worship Lord Kubera and Goddess Lakshmi and buy something new on this day. Considered very auspicious, people purchase gold, silver, clothes, gadgets as a sign of good fortune. This day is purely dedicated to the goddess of wealth.

Shubh Muhurat: 7:00 pm to 8:17 pm

Day 2: October 23: Narak Chaturdashi, also known as Choti Diwali

Naraka Chaturdasi, the second day, is also known as Choti Diwali. According to Hindu tradition and mythology, it is believed that Lord Krishna fought the demon Narakasura and killed him.

Shubh Muhurat: 5:05 am and end at 6:27 am

Day 3: October 24: Deepawali

The main festive day is Diwali and it marks the return of Lord Ram to Ayodhya after defeating Ravana and completing 14 years in exile.

On this day, people perform Lakshmi Pujan. People welcome Goddess Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth, who is believed to bless people with luck and prosperity.

Shubh Muhurat: The Lakshmi puja muhurat will begin at 06:53 pm and end at 08:15 pm on October 24. 

Day 4: October 25: Govardhan Pooja

Govardhan Puja is celebrated a day after Diwali and people worship Lord Krishna on this day.

People believe that Lord Krishna saved the residents of Mathura from Lord Indra by lifting a mountain named ‘Govardhan’.

Shubh Muhurat: 6:28 am till 8:43 am

Day 5: October 26: Bhai Dooj

The last and final day is called the Bhai Dooj or Bhau Beej, which celebrates the special bond of brothers and sisters.

Shubh Muhurat: The auspicious time will begin from 01:12 pm to 03:26 pm.

(With Agency Inputs)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Fact Check: PM Modi Has NOT Asked People Give Miss Calls To Vote For UCC; Here’s The Truth

A message is being circulated on social media with...

Fact Check: This Image Of PM Modi And Union Minister Amit Shah In A Skullcap Is Edited

After the BJP-led NDA formed the government with Modi...

ED Challenges Bail Granted To Kejriwal In Delhi High Court

New Delhi: In a setback for Delhi Chief Minister...

NewsMobile Myth Buster: Debunking Common Misconceptions Around Yoga

Yoga offers numerous benefits, such as improved flexibility, strength,...