skip to content

Lok Sabha Polls: EC Extends Poll Timings In Bihar LS Seats Due To Heatwave


New Delhi: The Election Commission (EC) has announced an extension of polling hours by two hours in select assembly segments across four parliamentary constituencies in Bihar due to the prevailing heatwave conditions, aiming to encourage enhanced voter participation.

Initially, the polling timings for the Banka, Madhepura, Khagaria, and Munger Lok Sabha constituencies were scheduled from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. However, in response to a request from the Chief Electoral Officer of Bihar and after consultations with various political parties and stakeholders, the EC has decided to modify the polling hours.

As per the revised notification issued by the EC, the polling hours have been extended to 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. in specific polling stations within the assembly segments of these parliamentary constituencies. For the remaining polling stations in these constituencies, the timings will continue to be from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Parliamentary constituencies in India consist of multiple assembly seats or segments, with polling timings generally set from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., subject to variations based on factors such as the state’s size, population, terrain, sunset time, and security considerations. Banka, Madhepura, Khagaria, and Munger are scheduled to go to polls in different phases

Click here for Latest Fact Checked News On NewsMobile WhatsApp Channel

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

News Mobile Morning Brief

Maliwal Assault Case: Delhi Police Take Bibhav Kumar To...

Maliwal Assault Case: Delhi Police Take Bibhav Kumar To CM Kejriwal Residence

New Delhi: Delhi Police on Monday took Bibhav Kumar,...

EAM Jaishankar Remembers Iranian President Raisi, FM Abdollahian’s Role In Chabahar Port Agreement

New Delhi: External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar emphasised the...

Chhattisgarh: 19 Laborers, Including 3 Minors, Killed In Truck Accident

Kawardha: In a tragic incident, at least 19 labourers...