Meet Philanthropist Rohini Nilekani: India’s Most Generous Woman


Philanthropist Rohini Nilekani has become the only woman to make it to the top 10 of Hurun’s top Philanthropist List 2023, with a donation of Rs 170 crore. This 64-year-old philanthropist secured the 10th position on the list, or her donation to ecosystem building.

However, the co-founder of Infosys who also is Rohini Nilekani’s husband, Nandan Nilekani secured the 8th position on the same list.

Hurun India said, ‘Their annual donations stand at Rs 189 crore and Rs 170 crore respectively, reflecting their deep commitment to philanthropy. The Nilekanis have signed the ‘Giving Pledge’ok, which commits half their wealth to philanthropic causes. They elevated their philanthropic contributions by an additional Rs 80 crore, reaching a cumulative donation of Rs 360 crore’.

Following Rohini, Anu Aga and the Thermax family, who gave Rs 23 crore, and Leena Gandhi Tewari of USV, who also gave Rs 23 crore in FY23, were other women philanthropist on the list.

Rohini Nilekani is an Indian writer, author and philanthropist. She is the founder of Arghyam Foundation, a non-profit that focuses on water and sanitation issues, founded in 2001. She also chairs the Akshara Foundation, which focuses on elementary education. At the same time, Nilekani also serves as the co-founder and director of non-profit education platform, EkStep.She is chairperson of Rohini Nilekani Philanthropies.

Rohini holds a degree in French literature from Elphinstone College. It was in 1998, when she released her first novel names Stillborn (a medical thriller). The novel was well received by the readers.

Last year in October as well, Rohini Nilekani topped the Hurun India Philanthropy List of women philanthropists by donating Rs 120 crore in the financial year 2022.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Rahul Gandhi Takes Oath As Lok Sabha MP With Copy Of Constitution In His Hand

New Delhi: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi took oath in...

Excise Policy Case: Delhi HC Stays Trial Court Order Granting Bail To Arvind Kejriwal

New Delhi: The Delhi High Court on Tuesday stayed...

Fact Check: 2018 Video Of Chandrababu Naidu Offering Namaz Shared As Recent

A video of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief and...

Fact Check: This Image Of A Half-constructed Taj Mahal Is AI-generated

An image depicting a half-constructed Taj Mahal is extensively...