skip to content

ECI Takes Cognizance Of MCC Violations By PM Modi, Rahul Gandhi


New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) has initiated action against alleged violations of the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress leader Rahul Gandhi. Both the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Indian National Congress (INC) have accused each other of propagating messages that could incite hatred and division based on factors like religion, caste, community, or language. In response, the ECI has invoked Section 77 of the Representation of the People Act and held the party presidents responsible as a first step to rein in star campaigners.

The allegations against Prime Minister Modi and Rahul Gandhi have been exchanged between BJP President JP Nadda and INC President Mallikarjuna Kharge. The ECI has requested a response from both parties by 11 AM on April 29. Emphasizing the gravity of the situation, the Election Commission stated, “Campaign speeches by those holding high positions are of more serious consequences,” highlighting the responsibility of political parties to ensure the conduct of their candidates and star campaigners.

On Monday, the BJP accused Rahul Gandhi of making false claims about the rise in poverty and attempting to create a North-South divide based on language and region. The party urged the Election Commission to take strict action against him, lodging a formal complaint with the poll panel.

In a tit-for-tat move, the Congress approached the ECI and lodged a complaint against Prime Minister Modi, seeking action for allegedly creating divisions between different classes of Indian citizens. The Congress memorandum underscored the principle of zero tolerance towards allegations of corrupt practices and called for the disqualification of candidates engaging in divisive rhetoric.

The Lok Sabha elections are currently underway in seven phases, with the first phase concluding on April 19. The second phase is scheduled to commence on April 26, followed by subsequent phases on May 7, May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 1. The results for all 543 Lok Sabha seats will be announced on June 4.

Click here for Latest Fact Checked News On NewsMobile WhatsApp Channel

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

News Mobile Morning Brief

Maliwal Assault Case: Delhi Police Take Bibhav Kumar To...

Maliwal Assault Case: Delhi Police Take Bibhav Kumar To CM Kejriwal Residence

New Delhi: Delhi Police on Monday took Bibhav Kumar,...

EAM Jaishankar Remembers Iranian President Raisi, FM Abdollahian’s Role In Chabahar Port Agreement

New Delhi: External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar emphasised the...

Chhattisgarh: 19 Laborers, Including 3 Minors, Killed In Truck Accident

Kawardha: In a tragic incident, at least 19 labourers...