Placeholder canvas

Meenakshi Lekhi appointed chairperson of Lok Sabha privileges committee


New Delhi: BJP MP from Delhi, Meenakshi Lekhi, has been appointed as the chairperson of the Committee of Privileges of the Lok Sabha.

She replaces SS Ahluwalia, who resigned on July 18 on his appointment as a minister.

“The Speaker has appointed Meenakshi Lekhi as Chairperson of Committee of Privileges vice SS Ahluwalia who resigned from the Committee,” a Lok Sabha bulletin said.

Mr Ahluwalia has also resigned as the Chairperson and member of the Joint Committee on the Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement (Second Amendment) Bill, 2015 on his appointment as Minister.

He has been replaced with BJP Lok Sabha member Ganesh Singh.

The Privileges Committee, which consists of 15 members nominated by the Speaker, examines every question involving breach of privilege of the House or of the members of any Committee thereof referred to it by the House or by the Speaker.

It determines with reference to the facts of each case whether a breach of privilege is involved and makes suitable recommendations in its report.

It also states the procedure to be followed by the House in giving effect to the recommendations made by it.

The Speaker may refer to the Committee any petition regarding disqualification of a member on ground of defection for making a preliminary inquiry and submitting a report to him.

(With PTI inputs)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Rajya Sabha Elections: BJP Wins Eight Seats, SP Bags Two In Uttar Pradesh

Lucknow: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Uttar Pradesh...

Rajya Sabha Elections: Congress Wins Three Seats, BJP Bags One In Karnataka

Bengaluru: In the latest Rajya Sabha polls held in...

India, Thailand Hold 10th Joint Commission Meeting; Multiple Agreements Signed

New Delhi: In a significant diplomatic development, India and...

Lok Sabha Polls: AAP Announces Candidates For Four Seats In Delhi, One In Haryana

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) revealed its...